MLS Debut 979

Home Openers Announced for 25th Season of Major League Soccer

Opening weekend to feature inaugural matches for Nashville SC and Inter Miami CF

NEW YORK (Thursday, December 5, 2019) – Major League Soccer today announced dates for all 26 of the club home openers for the 2020 season – Major League Soccer’s 25th Season Celebration. All 26 clubs will begin play on opening weekend, including the highly-anticipated debuts of the Major League Soccer’s two new expansion clubs, Nashville SC and Inter Miami CF. Nashville SC will open the season at home on Saturday, February 29, hosting perennial powerhouse Atlanta United while Inter Miami CF will travel to Los Angeles to face LAFC on Sunday, March 1, at Banc of California Stadium. Opening weekend will also see the 2019 MLS Cup champions Seattle Sounders FC kick off defense of their title against Chicago Fire FC at home in CenturyLink Field on Sunday, March 1.

The only way to guarantee season tickets for Nashville SC's home opener is to purchase season tickets for the inaugural MLS season, available here starting at $25 per match. 

In addition to opening weekend, the first four weekends of action will be filled with landmark moments. On Saturday, March 14, Inter Miami CF will make their home debut, hosting David Beckham’s former team, the LA Galaxy, at the club’s newly transformed Fort Lauderdale Stadium. Just one week later, on Saturday, March 21, Chicago Fire will make a historic return to Soldier Field in downtown Chicago, hosting Atlanta United for match.

For a full list of the 2020 Major League Soccer home openers, see below or visit

During the 2020 MLS regular season, each club will play 34 games, including 17 home games and 17 away games. Teams will face each of their conference opponents twice during the season, one game at home and one game away, for a total of 24 matches. The additional 10 regular season matches will be played against opponents from the other conference. Those inter-conference opponents will be revealed with the full 2020 schedule in the coming weeks.

2020 Major League Soccer Regular Season Home Openers

All times are EST. Home teams listed first. Schedule is subject to change.

Saturday, February 29, 2020

1 p.m. D.C. United vs. Colorado Rapids (Audi Field)
3 p.m. Montreal Impact vs. New England Revolution (Stade Saputo)
3:30 p.m. Houston Dynamo vs. LA Galaxy (BBVA Stadium)
5:30 p.m. San Jose Earthquakes vs. Toronto FC (Avaya Stadium)
6 p.m. FC Dallas vs. Philadelphia Union (Toyota Stadium)
6 p.m. Orlando City SC vs. Real Salt Lake (Exploria Stadium)
8 p.m. Nashville SC vs. Atlanta United (Nissan Stadium)
10:30 p.m. Vancouver Whitecaps FC vs. Sporting Kansas City (BC Place)

Sunday, March 1, 2020

12:30 p.m. Columbus Crew SC vs. New York City Football Club (MAPFRE Stadium)
1 p.m. New York Red Bulls vs. FC Cincinnati (Red Bull Arena)
3 p.m. Seattle Sounders FC vs. Chicago Fire FC (CenturyLink Field)
5:30 p.m. Los Angeles Football Club vs. Inter Miami CF (Banc of California Stadium)
7:30 p.m. Portland Timbers vs. Minnesota United

Sunday, March 7, 2020

1:30 p.m. New England Revolution vs. Chicago Fire FC (Gillete Stadium)
2 p.m. Real Salt Lake vs. New York Red Bulls (Rio Tinto Stadium)
5 p.m. Toronto FC vs. New York City Football Club (BMO Field)
7 p.m. Atlanta United vs. FC Cincinnati (Mercedes Benz Stadium)
8:30 p.m. Sporting Kansas City vs. Houston Dynamo (Children’s Mercy Park)
9 p.m. Colorado Rapids vs. Orlando City SC (Dick’s Sporting Goods Park)
10 p.m. LA Galaxy vs. Vancouver Whitecaps FC (Dignity Health Sports Park)

Saturday, March 14, 2020

12:30 p.m. New York City Football Club vs. FC Dallas (Yankee Stadium)
2:30 p.m. Inter Miami CF vs. LA Galaxy (Fort Lauderdale Stadium)
5:30 p.m. FC Cincinnati vs. D.C. United (Nippert Stadium)
7:30 p.m. Philadelphia Union vs. San Jose Earthquakes (Talen Energy Stadium)

Sunday, March 15, 2020

7 p.m. Minnesota United vs. New York Red Bulls (Allianz Field)

Sunday, March 21, 2020

6 p.m. Chicago Fire FC vs. Atlanta United (Soldier Field)