1920 (1)

NASHVILLE (April 17, 2020) — Nashville SC trail FC Cincinnati 2-1 from Nissan Stadium on Saturday night after a lively first 45 minutes.

Following tense opening moments, it was the visitors who got on the scoreboard first in the seventh minute through captain Luciano Acosta, following a quick offensive movement on the left side of the box. Nashville goalkeeper Joe Willis got a hand to the initial attempt before Acosta slotted home the rebound. Soon after in the eighth minute, a challenge from Willis on Brenner was deemed a penalty after a video review, eventually slotted home by Brenner in the 11th minute. Willis guessed right on the spot kick but it wasn’t enough to prevent the Brazillian’s first MLS goal.

Nashville SC got one back in the 20th minute following a quick counter attack. A long run from Aníbal Godoy was slotted to Randall Leal down the left flank before quickly sliding it across to Jhonder Cádiz, who finished in front of goal. Nashville nearly equalized in the 22nd minute, with a Daniel Lovitz corner meeting the head of Walker Zimmerman only to be denied by an excellent Przemysław Tytoń save. Hany Mukhtar had a brilliant chance in the box following another Lovitz cross, but Tytoń was quick to the shot. Randall Leal also had an opportunity with a shot from outside the box testing Cincinnati’s goalkeeper. 

Mukhtar had yet another chance in the 30th minute off a quick counter attack, dribbling past his defender before forcing yet another save. There weren’t many clear-cut chances the last 15 minutes of the half, but Nashville SC were on the front foot, aggressively pressing Cincinnati and limiting any opportunities for the opposition. Tune into the second half on MyTV30, radio on ESPN 94.9 and El Jefe 96.7, or streaming NashvilleSC.com.

Starting XI: Joe Willis; Daniel Lovitz, Walker Zimmerman, Dave Romney, Alistair Johnston; Aníbal Godoy, Dax McCarty, Randall Leal, Hany Mukhtar, Alex Muyl; Jhonder Cádiz

Substitutes: Jalil Anibaba, Rodrigo Piñeiro, Eric Miller, C.J. Sapong, Taylor Washington, Luke Haakenson, Brian Anunga, Brian Meredith, Handwalla Bwana