NASHVILLE, Tenn.  (May 21, 2022) – After a two-hour and 52-minute weather delay at GEODIS Park on Saturday night, Nashville SC secured a 2-2 draw against Atlanta United FC to extend the club’s home unbeaten streak to 23 in all competitions. CJ Sapong and Hany Mukhtar scored for the Boys in Gold in the first half of the match. 

Two Peas In A Pod: Nashville SC midfielder Hany Mukhtar and forward CJ Sapong combined in the club’s two goals tonight. The playmakers have accounted for 14 goals in the last two seasons including the Audi MLS Cup Playoffs when either one finds the back of the net.

Welcome To The 200 Club: Reigning MLS Defender of the Year Walker Zimmerman appeared in his 200th MLS regular season match tonight against Atlanta United FC while wearing the Captain’s armband for the Boys in Gold. The centerback has appeared in 20 or more matches in each of the last seven seasons in his MLS career. 

Keep the Results Coming: Nashville SC owns a 3W-1L-2D record in its last six matches across all competitions. The Boys in Gold are currently in a stretch of eight matches in 28 days, including Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup competition. 

Open Cup Next Up: Nashville SC returns to action on Wednesday as the Boys in Gold take on Louisville City FC in the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Round 16 on ESPN +. The Boys in Gold advanced from the Round of 32 after a thrilling 3-2 victory over Atlanta United FC.

Match Timeline        

NSH 25’: Jack Maher delivers a pass to Hany Mukhtar who dribbles in the box and sets up an open CJ Sapong in the box who slots home the goal 

ATL 27’: After a turnover in the Nashville SC 18, Marcelino Moreno sets up Thiago Almada who slots home the goal

NSH 32’: CJ Sapong heads an effort towards an open Hany Mukhtar at the back post who heads home the second goal of the match

ATL 88’: Dom Dwyer finds an open slot in the box and ties the match 


Nashville SC:        

  • is now 16W-2L-16D all-time at home 
  • is outscoring its opponents 51-25 during its 24-match home unbeaten streak 
  • owns an 19W-0L-7D all-time record when scoring two or more goals in a match in MLS competition 
  • owns a 22W-4L-8D record when scoring the first goal of the match in MLS matches 
  • owns a 16W-1L-5D all-time record in MLS when leading at the half
  • is undefeated against Atlanta United FC since Sept. 12, 2020 (3W-0L-3D)
  • has scored two or more goals in each of the last six matches against Atlanta 
  • is now 22W-10L-24D all-time against the Eastern Conference 
  • is 5W-1L-5D all-time in the month of May 
  • Jack Maher earned his second career assist tonight, his last assist came on June 26, 2021 against CF Montréal

Hany Mukhtar

  • earned his fourth goal of the season tonight, tying him with CJ Sapong for the team lead 
  • leads the team in combined goals and assists with nine
  • led the team in shots with five putting his season total to 46
  • CJ Sapong earned his 87th career goal along with his 33rd career MLS assist 

Box Score: Nashville SC (5W-4L-4D, 19 pts.) vs. Atlanta United FC (4W-4L-4D, 16 pts.)   

May 21, 2022 – GEODIS Park 

Final Score 

NSH: 2 

ATL: 2 

Scoring Summary 

NSH: CJ Sapong (Hany Mukhtar & Jack Maher) 25’ 

ATL: Thiago Almada (Marcelino Moreno) 27’ 

NSH: Hany Mukhtar (CJ Sapong) 32’

ATL: Dom Dwyer (Brooks Lennon & Thiago Almada) 88’


ATL: Franco Ibarra (caution) 34’ 

NSH: Aníbal Godoy (caution) 59’ 

NSH: CJ Sapong (caution) 72’

NSH: Alex Muyl (caution) 82’ 

NSH: Ethan Zubak (caution) 83’


NSH: Joe Willis; Daniel Lovitz, Dave Romney, Eric Miller (Jack Maher 19’), Walker Zimmerman (C); Alex Muyl, Aníbal Godoy (Dax McCarty 62’), Tah Brian Anunga, Sean Davis; Hany Mukhtar (Aké Loba 80’), CJ Sapong (Ethan Zubak 80’)

Unused Substitutes: Dax McCarty, Handwalla Bwana, Josh Bauer, Taylor Washington, Luke Haakenson, Bryan Meredith

ATL: Bobby Shuttleworth, Alex De John (George Campbell 74’), Alan Franco, Brooks Lennon, Franco Ibarra (Dom Dwyer 74’), Andrew Gutman (Ronald Hernandez 45’), Thiago Almada, Matheus Rossetto (C) (Emerson Hyndman 85’), Marcelino Moreno (Amar Sejdic (90+2’), Luiz De Araujo, Ronaldo Cisneros

Unused Substitutes: Tyler Wolff, Mikey Ambrose, Rocco Rios-Novo, Jackson Conway

Referee: Ted Unkel
AR1: Corey Parker
AR2: Meghan Mullen
4th: Brandon Stevis
VAR: Rosendo Mendoza
AVAR: TJ Zablocki

Attendance: 30,1019
Weather: Rainy, 82 degrees