Conference Alignment Announcement, 12.2.19


NEW YORK - It's official: Nashville Soccer Club will compete in the Western Conference for its inaugural Major League Soccer season in 2020, the league announced Monday morning. Fellow expansion side Inter Miami CF will be placed in the Eastern Conference to ensure both conferences have an equal 13 clubs. 

Each club will play a 34-game regular season with 17 home matches and 17 away matches. Every team will play their 12 intra-conference opponents twice – once home and once away for a total of 24 matches – with the other 10 regular-season matches coming against the opposite conference. Those inter-conference opponents will be revealed with the full 2020 schedule release.

Three more expansion clubs are set to join the league in the coming years: Austin FC (2021), Sacramento Republic (2022) and St. Louis (2022). 

As a Western Conference side for its inaugural season, Nashville SC is guaranteed to host some of the top clubs in MLS at Nissan Stadium, including defending MLS Cup champion Seattle Sounders and defending Supporters' Shield winners LAFC. Click here to get your 2020 Season Tickets to lock in your seats for these marquee matchups. 

Take a look at the official 2020 MLS conference alignment: 

Eastern Conference (13 clubs)

  • Atlanta United
  • Chicago Fire FC
  • Columbus Crew SC
  • D.C. United
  • FC Cincinnati
  • Inter Miami CF
  • Montreal Impact
  • New England Revolution
  • New York City FC
  • New York Red Bulls
  • Orlando City
  • Philadelphia Union
  • Toronto FC

Western Conference (13 clubs)

  • Colorado Rapids
  • FC Dallas
  • Houston Dynamo
  • LAFC
  • LA Galaxy
  • Minnesota United
  • Nashville SC
  • Portland Timbers
  • Real Salt Lake
  • San Jose Earthquakes
  • Seattle Sounders
  • Sporting Kansas City
  • Vancouver Whitecaps