skip navigation

Nashville SC Announces 14 Players Returning for 2019 Season

By Nashville SC, 11/14/18, 10:00AM EST


Pickens, Davis, Mensah and Moloto among those on 2019 roster

NASHVILLE – The majority of the main contributors of Nashville Soccer Club’s successful inaugural season that finished in a USL Cup Playoff appearance this season will be back for 2019, pending USL and federation approval. Each of Nashville’s 12 highest minutes-played contributors will be back next year, including all four primary defenders and starting keeper on the league’s second-best defense.                                      

“I’m happy to see a large percentage of our 2018 team returning for 2019,” said Nashville SC head coach Gary Smith. “There have been some strong foundations put in place, and I’m excited to continue our building process.”

Returning under contract in 2019 will be keeper Matt Pickens, defenders Justin Davis, Liam Doyle, Bradley Bourgeois and Kosuke Kimura, midfielders Michael Reed, Matt LaGrassa, Bolu Akinyode, Taylor Washington and Lebo Moloto, and forward Alan Winn.

Forward Tucker Hume and midfielder Ramone Howell have been re-signed by Nashville SC. Hume will return after scoring seven goals in the final three months of the season to propel SC into the playoffs. Howell, meanwhile, made his first two USL appearances as a rookie in Nashville’s final regular season game and playoff game, both against FC Cincinnati.

Finally, forward Ropapa Mensah has been purchased from Inter Allies FC following a season-long loan in 2018 with Nashville SC. Mensah became Nashville’s first-ever goalscorer when he struck against Atlanta United FC of MLS in Nashville’s opening friendly at First Tennessee Park.

“It was an encouraging inaugural season, and we are excited to have the nucleus of the group returning for 2019,” said Nashville SC VP of soccer operations and technical director Mike Jacobs.

Other club signings will be announced throughout the offseason as Nashville SC gears up for its second season in the USL.

Fans can place Season Ticket Member deposits for the 2019 season online at or by calling a ticket representative at (615) 457-8200.